June 22, Day 28

A pretty picture from along the way. Taken near Canaan. Not much photography from heavy traffic days.

Big news, Alice was born about 7am this morning!  I haven’t heard the whole story but Michael called to let me know that Mom and Baby are happy and healthy.  I was already on the water when I got the news. New goal, finish up and be there when They get home from the hospital, figure I have 48 hours. *

I left the pretty little make-shift site as the sun came up. The water was calm, no wind. Just the occasional dead fish today. Ospreys are plentiful here and I began to notice a few Seagulls as well.  As the sun climbed higher the River got wider and deeper. People came out in abundance; it is a perfect Summer Saturday! ** Many power boats and jet skis. The large wakes, coming from multiple angles, reminded me of Ocean boating. Though different, interesting, not particularly relaxing for all the reasons I have mentioned before. These are some of the largest, privately owned boats I have had to share the water with. There are all kinds of people, beached and hanging out on the islands. I love to see everyone out enjoying the water, the weather, the beauty, hardly anyone staring at their phone.

View from the Restaurant in East Hanover

Sometime in the early afternoon I was aided and pushed along by yet another strong tailwind! This is amazing, a wind such as this, two days in a row! Rare indeed and I have dubbed it “Alice’s Tailwind”. Enjoyed dinner in East Hanover at a lovely restaurant perched above the Connecticut. I was underdressed and alone but they let me sit outside on the patio, which is where I wanted to be anyway. (hehe). Had a big fancy salad and a glass of good wine, which I raised in a private toast to Alice and the whole wonderful, powerful Grandparent thing.

Ok, back on the water, I still have a bit of traveling to accomplish in order to reach the intended spot for the night. Gillette Castle Campground contains “primitive sites for non-motorized boaters.” Never did spot the Castle from the water but I did see the landmark Ferry Crossing and knew I must be there. It was close to sunset when I pulled over to an obvious take-out area and into a large family style campground with several sites separate, but close together. There were picnic tables and fire rings. A short path led to a port-a-potty. A big family occupied the place but at least one of the sites was open. I sort of asked, sort of told them, I would be spending the night. At this point I had been on the water for 12 hours and was not interested in paddling around in the dark looking for another spot.

I settled in, a little farther way from the group site, closer to the parking area and boat ramp, forgoing the luxury of a table for a little additional privacy.  Not an ideal site, maybe a bit of a party spot, but I feel safe and the clean port a potty is a good thing. Now I will sleep, looking forward to seeing John around Noon tomorrow and then meeting Alice!

Thirteen miles to go!!

Goodnight.

*Briana’s Dad and Granddaughter #1, 5-year-old Olivia, will be there with Briana, Michael and Baby today and tomorrow. This makes me happy.

**I could have timed this Section better and would advise human propelled boats to avoid this area on popular weekends, if possible.

High cliffs along both sides of the River headed out of East Hanover

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to June 22, Day 28

Leave a comment